Last week, the US Olympic Committee unveiled a mural of the 2009 US Hall of Fame inductees in Millennium Park. The three-dimensional mural was designed by chalk artist, Tracy Lee Stum, who holds the Guinness World Record for the largest chalk painting by individual for her piece, “The Da Vinci Code’ in 2006.  The mural depicts the inductees achieving excellence in their respective sports in the Olympics. The mural pays homage to inductees: Clyde Drexler, Michael Johnson, Picabo Street, Teresa Edwards, Willye White, Sarah Will, Andrea Mead-Lawrence, and Mary T. Meagher.  Drexler, Edwards, Will, and Meagher viewed and signed the mural.

So who are the inductees?

  •   Mary T. Meagher won a bronze medal in 1988 Seoul Olympics, but won 1984 Los Angeles in Swimming.
  •  Teresa Edwards won a bronze medal in the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, but won a gold medal in 1984 Los  Angeles, 1988 Seoul, 1996 Atlanta, 2000 Sydney Olympics in basketball.
  • Clyde Drexler won a gold medal in the 1992 Barcelona Olympics in basketball.
  •  Sarah Will won 12 gold medals in the Winter Paralympics 1992 – 2002.
  • Michael Johnson won a gold medal in the 1992 Barcelona, 1996 Atlanta and 2000 Sydney Olympics in   Track & Field.
  • Willye White who won a silver medal in 1956 Melbourne and 1964 Tokyo Olympics in Track & Field,  went on to win a gold medal in the 1963 Olympics in the Long Jump.
  •  Andrea Mead-Lawrence won a gold medal in 1952 Oslo Olympics in Alpine Skiing.
  • Picabo Street won a silver medal in 1994 Lillehammer Olympics and then won a gold in 1998 Nagano Olympics.